the madswirl zineopen micpoetry forumshort storiesthe mad gallerycolumnsclassifiedsfriendscontact & submissions
home | open mic

notes of gratitude to ALL the mad ones!

On 02.01.12 Mad Swirl kicked off February at Absinthe Lounge doing the open mic voodoo that what we do do... and shared some new news on some newness we've been craving to do too! Hosts Johnny O and MH Clay got to callin' all the mad poets & musicians & a few other miscellaneous mad ones in the lounge to come & strut their mad stuff!

Mad swirlin' thanks to ALL the mad ones that came to participate, to appreciate, to celebrate...

Johnny O (host)
MH Clay (co-host)
Suza "Hep Kat-Mama"
Roderick Richardson
Cj Critt
Josh Weir
Gordon Hilgers
Desmene Statum
Logan Britton
Andrew Boerder
Lilly Penhall
Paul Sexton
James Hargrave
Julie Fackrell
Richard Wiley
Spanky D
Clay Driver

A very special swirlin’ thanks to the hep cats who were Swirve. Chris Curiel and his magic trumpet swirling in our heads and Gerard Bendiks keeping the beat on skins, created such jazzy madness!

HUGE thanks to Absinthe Lounge owner Kevin Christensen for allowing us mad ones to go with our flow for OVER 7 years now. And a shout-out to the fine Lounge staffers for keeping the mad spirits fillin' and swillin' for us buzzed mad ones.

And finally we would like to thank ALL of you who freely shared their hand claps, finger-snaps, hoots and howls with all the mad ones who got up on this sacred mad swirlin' mic.

where's this madness take place?

Absinthe Lounge is located in the SouthSide on Lamar building.

1409 South Lamar Street • Dallas, TX 75215
google map

Wanna view see who was who from past open mics?